• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

Voting in membership

Go to solution Solved by John Young,

• Members

I am wanting to join a church .

I've been attending for a couple of months now.. I want to get a membership transfer .. and be voted in..but don't know if it is going to happen. .

The senior pastor said it won't be a problem to get a transfer..but nothing has happened..

What do I do?

• Administrators

Nothing, You do not need the approval of your old church for a transfer of membership. This is not a hostage negotiation and they have no say where you transfer to. If I was your pastor I would have already had the church vote you in.

• Members
  • Solution
2 hours ago, MikeWatson1 said:

I want to get a membership transfer .. and be voted in..but don't know if it is going to happen. .

The senior pastor said it won't be a problem to get a transfer..but nothing has happened..

What do I do?

A transfer letter is simply a recommendation letter from your old church to the new church stating you were in good standing with them and that they recommend you to the new for membership. Sometimes you can't get a letter or its indefinitely delayed for whatever reason. In those cases you should simply speak with the pastor, perhaps discus any reasons the letter may not have been given and ask if you can join by your statement of like faith before the congregation. Each church has their criteria for membership. Some simply take your word of faith but others may want more. You will have to decide on your own if their requirements are worth becoming a member with them. 

• Members