• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

Preachers Kids

Jim_Alaska

• Administrators

I have my own thoughts about this particular subject, but thought I would ask what others think about it.

The subject is preachers kids, supposedly being called to preach. Do you think their call is valid most of the time? Or may many of these be just the wishes of the parents, even to the point of them "grooming" their kids to be preachers?

There just seem to be so many preachers kids that also go on to be preachers, that it begs this question to be addressed.

• Members

I am a God-called pastor.  I have two children, both sons.  One is now 27 years old, is called of the Lord our God to the ministry of the pastor, and is presently the assistant pastor of a church in Pennsylvania.  The other is now 22 years old, is called of the Lord our God to the ministry of the evangelist, and is presently in his senior year of college training for that purpose.  I most certainly DID train/groom my sons to be faithful servants of the Lord our God in their daily walk and in the Lord's ministry, just as all children should be.  I most certainly DID include my sons in the ministry work that the Lord our God has called us as a family, such that they ever observed the life and work of a pastor, both good and bad.  (Note: I DID let them see and know the negative side of pastoral ministry, as well as the positive.)  However, I very carefully did NOT "push" my sons to a call for pastoral/evangelist ministry.  Did I desire it?  Yes.  Did I pray for it?  Yes.  Did I ever communicate that directly to them.  NO!  Did they guess that their father might desire for them to follow in his footsteps?  Probably, even as most children probably guess such in relation to their own parents and their own parents' profession(s).  However, I very purposefully waited for the Lord to communicate His will unto my sons; and I very purposefully communicated to them i