• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

Mormon Missionaries

• Members

A friend and I talked to two Mormon Missionaries who approached us as we worked on my sons truck. It turned into an hour + conversation. They got very interested when I told them I attended the Mormon Church as a boy. Their Joy left when I told them I was an Assistant Pastor of a Baptist Church. I have talked to many mormons and Mormon missionaries. They all have something different to say. The last one ( about a year ago) said the Book of Mormon was just a bunch of stories to help us understand the Bible. :loco

These guys had certain verses memorized which they quoted way way way out of context to fit baptism of the dead and the like. When I asked them to turn to the verse they refered to (1 Peter 4:6) they could not even find 1 Peter in the Bible, we had to show them.

They got mad and quit talking to us when we brought up the DNA results that have proven the Book of Mormon wrong as to where it says the nephites come from. They did not like that and exused themselves from the conversation.

They were shocked every time we would quote scripture to them, or correct thier error of teaching on a verse. They did not expect that at all.

It showed me the importance of keeping up on my scripture memory.

It broke my heart that these two boys have taken the lie hook, line, and sinker, based on what someone told them.

We challenged them to read John and Romans without the book of mormon and to pray for the wisdom of God for the truth, not what they think is truth. They said they would but I think thier answer was just to appease us.

It was exciting to witness to them but also very sad to watch them walk away in their errant belief.

• Members

It's a shame to see such dedication and committment to service to a false religion...especially when one looks about at how hard it can be to get Christians to do anything.