• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

The Difference Between Wrath And Anger

• Members

This thread is started so we can discuss the difference between wrath and anger (and definitions) according to the Bible.

Do you think wrath (in the Bible - referring to the word itself) is ungodly, but anger may be godly or ungodly? It’s been a long time since I studied out these words, but I remember someone defining wrath as uncontrolled anger or rage in regards to man (not God); whereas anger could be righteous or unrighteous depending upon whether you are angry at something against God and His Word and how you deal with that anger.

Let's state this right off the bat to curtail this discussion going in endless circles:

The Bible does NOT state anger in itself is sin. It teaches we can respond angrily in a sinful manner, and that unjustified anger is sin - but not anger itself. Otherwise, that makes our Saviour a sinner (which IS NOT THE CASE) because the Bible specifically stated He was angry at sin and sinful behaviour/attitudes.

Matthew 5:21-22 Ye have heard that it was said by them of old time, Thou shalt not kill; and whosoever shall kill shall be in danger of the judgment: But I say unto you, That whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.

Mark 3:5 And when he (Jesus) had looked round about on them with anger, being grieved for the hardness of their hearts, he saith unto the man, Stretch forth thine hand. And he stretched it out: and his hand was restored whole as the other.

Ephesians 4:26-27 Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath: Neither give place to the devil.