• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

On Preaching the Word of God

Gud4U

Greetings,

i know i am new, but maybe that's a good thing, because i see things that i did not expect and long timers may have gotten used to them so they ignore or simply may not notice them, i do not mean to hurt anyone, but it hurts a lot, so i'm going to say it.

Why do you go and start and give a sermon or lecture on the Holy Bible when you are not prepared well enough on the topic you have decided to talk about?

Why do you belittle the Word of God by thinking whatnot and imagining that all will be fine?

Why do you take the Word of God for granted?

i am an English language teacher and no matter what i want to teach, i need to prepare myself before i go to my class, and that's everyday English, not the Word of God!

How much more do you, dear pastors and preachers, need to study and prepare before you go on the stage, or wherever you preach, and hopefully preach the Word?

i humbly suggest if you are too busy with your life and worldly matters, leave the preaching and let others who are truly devoted to the Lord do the Lord's business and you get straight to yours.

May the Lord forgive me if i have offended anyone,

May the Lord bless your hearts,

Totoo

I'd like to add on that, if i may:

When you pray, either at the beginning of your sermon, or at the end, please do not pray as if you are doing the homework you do not enjoy, as i take it, praying, just as giving a sermon, is worshiping the Lord and needs as much care and time as any worship, if you are in a hurry to say a few words as a prayer, well, i feel you, but it hurts a lot, i do not believe anyone enjoys watching your sermon, the least, the Lord, when you are worshiping in a rush and as hurriedly as you can.

We expect so much from the Lord and we are not willing to give Him a little time to pray for ourselves? how cool is that?

Thank you.

• Administrators