• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

Any Advice?

• Members

For the last year or so, the Lord has been working on my heart about starting a church. I have a Bible College degree, and I did have a class that covered this; however, I wasn't crazy about the methods that were taught about starting a church.

I've made an appointment with a Mission Board (of a missionary that my family helps support) to see if they can give me advice. I'm not meeting them to be a missionary (though I'm open to whatever God would have my family and me do); I'm just going to get advice and insight into starting a church. I had to cancel my first appointment with them due to a family situation. They were very understanding, and assured me that they would still like to meet with me. The Director (my contact) has been in Romania for a while, so I'm not sure if he's had time to check his email...so I'm not sure when I'll be able to reschedule the appointment.

My questions to you are...

1. Does anyone here have experience starting a church?
  2. If so, I would like to ask you for any advice; however, I realize that it could take a lot of typing! Therefore, can you suggest any websites or any other organizations that I could possibly investigate into for information?
  3. Even those who may not have experience starting a church, I'd appreciate any help.

Thank you!

• Members

There are two basic methods for planting a church.
1. Move to an area, get a job, and begin by evangelizing. Once you have led a few to the Lord, organize in a Bible Study and as the group grows, plant the church.

Benefits
You have personally led the people to the Lord, Discipled them and you will have a very strong core group when the church is actually planted
Draw Backs
Can take years to get the core group, depending on where you are planting the church.
Requires Pastor to work a job while trying to get the work going