• Welcome to Online Baptist

Free to join.

LindaR

The False Teachings of Seventh Day Adventism

Heretical Christian "sect" or cult?

Is Seventh Day Adventism just another heretical Christian "sect" or is it a cult? I am not using the word cult flippantly. I studied the history of SDA and Ellen G. White...I have even gone "head to head" with some of their people. I feel that SDA teaches "another" gospel (Gal. 1:8-9). SDA never started out as a Christian "sect". The roots of this movement are not Biblical. First and foremost, SDA ADDS to the Gospel of grace...their #1 addition is Sabbath keeping...that the Sabbath is eternally binding on men from the creation. Here are some of the SDA teachings which, IMHO, put it into the category of "cult":

1. Soul Sleep
2. Annihilation of the wicked (JWs teach this also)
3. Investigative Judgment
4. Ellen G. White as prophetess (her "prophecies" have more authority than the Bible)
5. Mixing Law and Grace and leading people AWAY from Christ and putting them back under the Law.

That's for starters...

Right you are, Linda! It is not a Christian denomination. True Christians can possibly get deceived by their false teachings - but a person can never get saved through their works-based gospel.

My uncle is a Seventh Day Adventist, and his wife has followed him into the religion. I do admire my uncles' commitment, but unfortunately many of those commitments are extra-Biblical at best. He won't even use a toll road on Saturday.

For example, he refuses to eat meat. I think Jesus made it clear in Matthew 15 that we can eat whatever, because it's what comes out of a man's mouth that makes him unclean rather than what goes in. Also, Paul said in 1st Timothy 4 I believe that a certain doctrine of demons forbids men to eat meat (and also to marry) and that all food is meant to be received with thanksgiving. Not to mention, Peter had a vision in the book of Acts where God declared all food clean.