• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

Believing and Returning: Why, How, Who, and When We Are Returning to On-Campus Services

• Members

Believe-and-Return.jpg

Just over two months ago, we began the unprecedented journey through the COVID-19 crisis.

As a church, we have

• Prayed for those with the virus and for the medical professionals providing care to the sick.
  • Cooperated at every level with our government and carefully followed the recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
  • Ministered to our community through this crisis.
  • Pivoted our services to an online-only venue.

As a pastor, I have also

• Prayed and fasted. (Many of our church family have joined in this, which I appreciate.)
  • Sought counsel from medical, legal, and political leaders, keeping our deacons apprised through the process.
  • Participated in numerous webinars to study the issues and respond properly.
  • Spoken with our city, county, state, and national leaders.
  • Stayed in touch with our mayor, who has kept me up to date.
  • Communicated with our county supervisor and gladly accepted her invitation to serve on the Economic Resiliency Task Force.
  • Worked with hundreds of pastors across our state and around the country on these issues, considering safety for our congregations, religious liberty, and constitutional rights.