• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

The Rochester Family Visited Again!

• Members
Rochesters-2016
If you search this blog for “Rochester” you’ll find a blog a year about their visits. Their music is awesome (if you like blue grass gospel, and amazingly, I know a couple that don’t!) and uplifting. They bring us something old and something new. I have over ten hours on an iPod to play on trips. I think I have more of their CDs that what’s listed on their Music page.

A favorite is “I’m A Soldier”, which begins:
I'm a soldier bound for Glory
I'm a soldier going home
Come and here me tell me story
All who love the savior come
I love the chorus:
I love Jesus, Hallelujah
I love Jesus, yes I do
I love Jesus, He's my Savior
Jesus smiles and loves me too

Their visit isn’t all music, though. They do put on a concert at our small country church Saturday night for the entire community, and people come from other counties, too. We offer a free BBQ sandwich, baked beans and chips – and your choice of tables of desserts our families bring in. Oh, there’s Deb’s Sopapilla Cheesecake, David’s Texas Sheetcake, maybe even Tina’s Lemon Pie or Lorene’s Banana Pudding. Remember that for next spring when the Rochesters visit our church again.

They sing for Sunday School, and some for morning worship – but then Scott Matthews preaches.  This past Sunday his scripture reference was Philippians 1:6:

Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ: (Philippians 1:6 KJV)

I found my notes from his sermon very sparse. I was too busy listening and watching him move across the room, making eye contact, knowing he was speaking to each of us, personally.