• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

My Philosophy Of Leadership

Donald

• Members

This morning the Lord was burdening me about a question: So I sat down at my computer and typed out the following two pages......

My Philosophy of leadership:

I am a pastor, not an administrator.
According to Eph.4:11-12, I am a “pastor/teacher(preacher)”

As a “preacher”, I stick to the book; Preaching the whole council of God’s Word!
As a “pastor”, I am the “Spiritual leader” of a local Church! (Heb.13:17)
According to the Bible, the local Church, doesn’t belong to the pastor; Nor does it belong to the congregation!  It is “God’s Church”!    And all of us are Stewards of it!

Whereas, the local Church is the Lord’s, it is the Lord that will either bless it or withhold His blessings from it! (John 3:27)

Therefore A local Church can err in two directions, in this area of ownership.
(1)A Church’s pastor, can see himself as the owner!
(2)or a Church’s congregation can see itself as the owner!
    -Both views are wrong and damaging to that local Church!-

Although in most cases, either one of these views or directions, are acted upon, out of a sincere desire to see that local Church prosper; They are both sincerely wrong!

A pastor may take too much “control” of a Church, with the motivation of wanting to keep it heading in the right direction.  Or a congregation may take too much “control” of a local Church, with the same intent.  But both of these decisions are wrong!

The local Church is “the Lord’s” and He will take it in the direction that He wants it to go.

An administrator is “someone who runs a business”:
While a pastor, is “someone who leads a congregation”!
(The local Church is not a business!)
------------------------------------------------------------------
The Bible is clear in the duties and responsibilities of both a local pastor and a local congregation.