• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

God Ever Answer Your Prayer Like This?

• Members

I was going through a really depressing time years ago.

Up from 'no where', I felt the Lord wanted me to leave the company I worked for and start my own business. I was a carpenter.

I gave notice only after I had accrued weeks worth of work lined up to be done. Well, within about the first week, the rest of the work was

cancelled.

There I was, a self proclaimed, self employed, loser.

Life was a let down to say the least, and there I was, a husband, a father, and the one to bring in the 'bucks'...unemployed.

I was not in a very good mood one early morn, when in prayer (vehemently arguing, mind you) with the Lord, stated the following:

"...if what you wanted me to do is what you wanted me to do, show me an angel!"

I know, that was not very Christian of a child of God to demand of the Lord God and Creator of all the earth such a silly thing, and I was a few years younger then...

Yet, strange as it may seem, it answered the need of my heart, to open up and talk to God in true emotions.

Since my car was broke down, I had a loaner from my parents, my Mom's car.

Well, I kissed my wife goodbye and off to look for work I went. Out the drive, up the hill in front of our house, and SLAM!

Head on collision. 

Sort of.

When the glass, and sounds of crunch dissipated, there I sat, spider webbed windshield, no glasses on, my bible in the floorboard.

Silence for a fraction of a second, then the crunch, and the sound of dragging metal on pavement.

The pickup truck that hit me rode up and over the cars hood and roof I was in. Crushing the windshield, and flying over me, and slammed into the pavement and skidded down the road, ending up in front of our driveway. My wife seeing the whole thing from the front window.