• Welcome to Online Baptist

Free to join.

I, along with my family, grew up in the Church of Christ, where the NIV was prevalent. Shortly before I graduated High School, the new preacher was using The Message in his sermons. I got saved when I was 21, and have been using the KJV ever since. I have been witnessing to my family for a while now, and one of the topics that come up is Bible versions.

My mom explained it to me like this: My great-uncle Gordon, who knows Greek by the way, says that the modern versions are better for this reason. Would you rather have a doctor who has studied modern medicine and has had centuries of practice over a 17th century doctor operate on you, or would I rather have the 17th century doctor operate on me?

I didn't realize it at the time, but I do now. By adhering to that line of thinking, you are essentially saying that you do not believe the Bible is the Word of God. That very thought alone, that the Bible is the Word of God, should put enough fear into you to not even consider "updating" the language in it. Woe is the person who attempts to pervert the Holy Word of God! I would not want to be in their shoes come judgement day!

The blind will not see nor understand the thought, they will probably think you actually mean they need to chew on the KJ & likely to think your crazy.

That's ok Jerry, sometimes I think I'm crazy too!

It is an awesome thought though, and when we carry it a little further, we see that unbelief can come from the heart of believers also.  When we explain away certain scriptures because we don't accept the teaching they contain we do the same thing!  Scary thought.