• Welcome Guest

For an ad free experience on Online Baptist, Please login or register for free

Rebuke not an elder.......

• Members

I Timothy 5:1 Rebuke not an elder, but intreat him as a father; and the younger men as brethren; 2The elder women as mothers; the younger as sisters, with all purity.

I was told the other day, that "Rebuke not an elder.." was referring to rebuking pastors. When I disagreed, they corrected me, (who am 10 years older than this person), they told me to study my Bible, and said that the Greek word "Presbuteros" was referring to an officer of the church or pastor. So I studied it again.

The word presbuteros, used in these two verses, is not only the word translated as "elders" but also "elder women". Not only that, but the context is comparing "elders" with "younger". Anyway, if one takes an older man aside, alone, asks him some questions about an offense, then clearly expresses disagreement with said offense, is pointing out the perceived wrong "rebuke"? Where does one draw the line?

I think it is also important how you handle the situation with regard to elders. Don't beat them or publicly embarass them. To take them aside and privately tell them they may be in error is not rebuke as I understand from below. If someone is publicly subverting the church, practice of faith, or If someone were on a tirade for their personal esteem, I would probably call them out quickly and publicly. That's the "old salt" in me.

Strong’s
G1969
ἐπιπλήσσω
epiplēssō
ep-ee-place'-so
From G1909 and G4141 ; to {chastise} that {is} (with words) to upbraid: - rebuke.

Webster’s 1828
chastise
1. To correct by punishing; to punish; to inflict pain by stripes, or in other manner, for the purpose of punishing an offender and recalling him to his duty.
upbraid
1. To charge with something wrong or disgraceful; to reproach; to cast in the teeth; followed by with or for, before the thing imputed; as, to upbraid a man for his folly or his intemperance.

• Members